Just a heads up, not all tonkatsu sauces on the market are vegan. Some contain fish sauce as an ingredient. Afaik, it’s only a couple of brands, but it is something to be aware of.
Kikkoman’s tonkatsu is supposed to be vegan, but check the ingredient list to make sure, because some companies change recipes and don’t change the front of the label.
Otafuku is another brand that is supposed to be, with the same warning.
Now, I’m basing that off of ingredient lists and what vegans I cook for irl tell me. So definitely check labels thoroughly before relying on those brands.
Also, the sauce works great on tofu as well. Just go a little lighter than you might on something like seitan, or you might as well just drink the sauce lol.
Just a heads up, not all tonkatsu sauces on the market are vegan. Some contain fish sauce as an ingredient. Afaik, it’s only a couple of brands, but it is something to be aware of.
Kikkoman’s tonkatsu is supposed to be vegan, but check the ingredient list to make sure, because some companies change recipes and don’t change the front of the label.
Otafuku is another brand that is supposed to be, with the same warning.
Now, I’m basing that off of ingredient lists and what vegans I cook for irl tell me. So definitely check labels thoroughly before relying on those brands.
Also, the sauce works great on tofu as well. Just go a little lighter than you might on something like seitan, or you might as well just drink the sauce lol.